The Short Film Competition: ‘The Taste of Freedom’ in Austria

Deadline: 7 June 2014
Open to: young filmmakers from Central and Eastern Europe, as well as from Austria, who are up to 35 years of age
Prize: 1,500 Euro and the Urania statue


From the first edition in 2012, the LET’S CEE Film Festival is continually giving an attractive opportunity for promoting Central and Eastern European cinematography. A special attention is placed on initiating international cooperation within the film sector and on supporting young talents. The programme features a selection of the current feature films and documentaries as well as short films and all categories take part in the festival’s film competitions.

The Short Film Competition will give young filmmakers (up to the age of 35) from Central and Eastern Europe, as well as from Austria, the opportunity to submit their short films with a maximum length of 30 minutes. The films featured in this competition can be submitted personally by their respective directors or producers.

The underlying theme of the Short Film Competition 2014 is The Taste of Freedom.

Ten best films will be selected from all the submitted works by a curatorial panel chaired by the filmmakers Arash and Arman T. Riahi. The respective selection will be presented in the festival‘s Short Film Competition, then ten selected candidates will get the chance to present their work at an International Festival and to compare their work directly with other excellent young filmmakers, and additionally, to exchange thoughts with their colleagues. Attractive awards for outstanding film projects will further aid the goal of discovering and promoting young talents.


The competition is opened to young filmmakers from Central and Eastern Europe, as well as from Austria, who are up to 35 years old.

The films entering the competition should be produced in one of the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldavia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey and Ukraine.

The film should be no longer than 30 minutes. The director should be up to 35 years of age and the film should be completed after 1 January 2013.


The International Jury will award the winner of the Short Film Competition with a main award of 1,500 Euro and an Urania statue. For the second successive time, the award sponsors of the Short Film Competition will be the film producer and cultural manager Robert Hofferer as well as ArtdeluxeKunst- und Kulturmanagement GmbH.


The deadline for entering the competition is 7 June 2014

You can read the full festival regulations HERE. You can submit your film directly HERE

For more information please visit the official website HERE


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.